Active Relaxation Center- Raffa Yoga (Cranston, RI)

About two weeks ago I posted about my recent visit to Breathing Time Yoga in Pawtucket, RI and this week I wanted to share with you my favorite yoga studio that started it all for me — Raffa Yoga Active Relaxation Center in Cranston, RI.

Prior to going to Raffa Yoga, I had minimal experience to yoga via classes I took in college and playing Wii Fit (yes, Wii Fit lol).  I also visited maybe two other studios, one of them being in another state entirely and another I wasn’t too fond of, so I wasn’t really able to gain much interest in yoga (primarily hot yoga).  It wasn’t until I went to Raffa Yoga when I really enjoyed doing hot yoga (a little more) regularly.

Hot yoga here will kick your bum.  It’s definitely challenging and everyone here is very open-minded.  Raffa Yoga is a safe space for practice and you’ll never feel like you have to do something out of your comfort and are encouraged to practice at your own pace.  In addition to having fantastic practices and a safe space, the spiritual experience is also really great.  You don’t have to be an intense yogi to truly appreciate the calmer atmosphere of the yoga practice, or the inspiring words at the end during shavasana.  I’m not usually the type of person to be moved by “inspirational quotes” but the setting and experience as a whole at Raffa Yoga makes reflecting on inspirational ideas so much more meaningful.  And that is something I really connected with a lot when practicing there my first time.

Apart from the hot yoga practices, the people are also fantastic.  The people who work there and the other people practicing are super friendly.  Every so often I meet someone new at the studio.  I don’t necessarily become best friends with them, but just meeting people and having a short conversation with a stranger is quite refreshing when we live in an age in which no one really talks to each other anymore.

Raffa Yoga also offers anti-gravity yoga classes (think of those studios with the cloth hanging from the ceiling and you do stretches, flips, etc…).  I met one of the instructors (Shaina — also super friendly and great!!) who teaches the class, but I have not had the chance to go yet… I’m a little intimidated of the class and have been trying to get someone to go with me for the first time :P.

One of the most appealing things about Raffa Yoga is that it not only offers yoga classes, but there is also a raw juice bar, store, massage spa, and sauna rooms there (hence having the full name Raffa Yoga Active Relaxation Center).  I have yet to get anything from the raw juice bar or utilize the spa, but the store has a great selection of yoga and relaxation items.  I, myself, bought a candle (scented Bamboo Hibiscus which is a-w-e-s-o-m-e) and some fragrance oils.

For a drop-in class, it’ll cost you around $18 and you can use the Mind Body Connect app to book classes.  If you are a first-time visitor, Raffa does offer a $50 first month for unlimited classes.  While $18 might be a little more on the expensive side for hot yoga practice, I certainly do think it’s totally worth it (I mean, come on… the Buddha Room is @#%*ing HOTTT!!!!)!

Raffa Yoga Active Relaxation Center is located in the industrial area (near Swarovski and NBC 10 studios) on Sharpe Drive in Cranston (close to Pontiac Ave).  See their website for a full schedule and special events and classes, and for more information on their other services.

Raffa Yoga Active Relaxation Center
19 Sharpe Drive
Cranston, RI 02902
(401) 463-3335
www.raffayoga.com

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a comment