Naka Sushi – Capitola, CA

This past winter was probably one of the worst ones in a while… Feet of snow and a never-ending cold.  It was surprisingly that at the end of April we were still suffering some high-40’s weather.  Luckily for me I got the chance to travel to the Golden State. On the other. Side. Of. The. Country!  So it was “Goodbye, cloudy and cold!” and “Hello, sunny and warm!”.  Who could complain?  Not to mention, it was my first time in California too, and it probably won’t be my last.

Capitola, CA

Capitola, CA

I was doing work around the Valley (Silicon Valley), that is, and flew in to San Jose, CA.  Work was in Santa Cruz, which was about an hour away by car, so away I went and drove on the infamous Highway 17.  It was the most exciting, most frightening, most beautiful drive I have ever done by myself.  And it was totally worth it.

Now, despite doing work in Santa Cruz I actually ended up booking a hotel in Capitola, CA which is just east of Santa Cruz.  Capitola is a quaint surf town (or at least that’s the vibe I got) and it was absolutely adorable.  Since I was there at the end of April and start of May, there wasn’t a whole of tourism going on yet.  But with sunny days and high 70’s weather, that was absolutely perfect!  My only regret is that I didn’t really get to venture out into town until my last night there, considering the hotel I stayed at was only about a 10-minute walk from where the shops and water were.  But alas, I did.  And it was fabulous.

From my hotel I walked to the cliff over Capitola Beach.  It was beautiful — beachy homes, surfers, a calm warm breeze, and palm trees.  I don’t think I ever felt so peaceful traveling anywhere before.  And the sight!  The ocean and cliff were unreal.  If only I could stay here for a full week for leisure… (Guess I’ll have to visit again!).  After a few minutes of relaxation, it was time to pamper myself a bit and eat!

Naka Sushi

Naka

Naka Sushi was actually a sushi restaurant that was recommended to me by a customer.  It was previously called Pink Dragon and had since been renovated and renamed to Naka Sushi (the name of the chef, I believe), and it was exactly the type of restaurant I love going to — small, family-owned, and lots of good good food — and seated a smaller number of people.  The small family seated by me seemed to be locals who frequented that restaurant and appeared to know the owners very well.  Overall, the atmosphere was very comfortable despite me having gone to the restaurant by myself.  Not to mention, there was an awesome display there as well.

Katana display at Naka Sushi

Katana display at Naka Sushi

The menu at Naka Sushi is pretty basic, but holy smokes the fish was damn delicious.  The sushi was prepared a little differently than what I am used to.  They seemed somewhat over-sized which made it a little hard to eat, but I wasn’t necessarily complaining — any extra fish that I couldn’t fit was perfect as sashimi.  And holy cow, the uni was buttery as ever… so good.  For me, if a sushi chef can prepare the simplest sushi and have it be so flavorful then he is quite the sushi master and he knows good fish!  “Naka” at Naka Sushi is definitely just that.  Great sushi, a good atmosphere, along with craft Japanese beer?! Why wouldn’t anyone come here?  This place is great all around.

Spicy Hamachi and Uni

Spicy Hamachi and Uni

Maguro Nigiri

Maguro Nigiri

Kawada, craft Japanese beer

Kawada, craft Japanese beer

Naka Sushi is located in Capitola Village in Capitola, CA.  I would absolutely recommend skipping out on the more glorious-looking sushi places around and come here for the experience and awesome sushi.  Keep in mind that there is also a water shortage in California right now, so if water is not offered when you’re seated it’s just because there’s not much water in that part of the country right now :0).  Save your water!

Naka Sushi
851 41st Ave
Capitola, CA 95062
(831) 479-9620

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment